Home » Presenters


Keynote Presenters

See all presenters

Thursday: Pauly Denetclaw, Seung Min Kim and Juana Summers

For this keynote, each guest will speak individually in a 10-minute TED Talk format on how journalism can better serve the communities they cover. A moderated panel discussion will follow.

Pauly Denetclaw, a citizen of the Navajo Nation, is Haltsooí (Meadow People) born for Kinyaa’áanii (Towering House People).

An award-winning reporter based in Washington, D.C., she has worked for the Navajo Times and Texas Observer covering Indigenous communities, and her radio pieces have aired on KYAT, National Native News, NPR’s Latino USA and Texas Public Radio.

She is a board member of the Native American Journalists Association.

Juana Summers is a co-host of NPR’s “All Things Considered,” alongside Ailsa Chang, Ari Shapiro and Mary Louise Kelly. She joined the program in June 2022.

Summers previously spent more than a decade covering national politics, most recently as NPR’s political correspondent covering race, justice and politics.

She covered the 2012, 2016 and 2020 presidential elections and has also previously covered Congress for NPR. Her work has appeared in a variety of publications across multiple platforms, including Politico, CNN, Mashable and The Associated Press.

In 2016, Summers was a fellow at the Georgetown University Institute of Politics and Public Service.

Seung Min Kim is a White House reporter for The Associated Press, specializing in the Biden administration’s relationship with Capitol Hill.

Before joining the AP in July 2022, she covered the White House for The Washington Post and Congress for Politico.

She is a board member of the Washington Press Club Foundation and a member of the Asian American Journalists Association.

Friday: Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein

In 1973, Woodward and Bernstein were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for their Watergate coverage at The Washington Post, leading to the resignation of President Richard Nixon and setting new standards for investigative journalism. The pair went on to write two classic best-sellers: All the President’s Men (also a movie starring Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman); and The Final Days, chronicling the end of the Nixon presidency. On the 50th anniversary of the Watergate break-in, join legendary reporters Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein as they discuss the famous investigative story, how they broke it and its lasting impact on journalism.

Saturday: 2022 Fellows of the Society: Jerry Green, Roland Martin, John Quiñones, Clarissa Ward and Bill Whitaker

The Society of Professional Journalists recognizes Jerry Green, Roland Martin, John Quiñones, Clarissa Ward and Bill Whitaker as this year’s Fellows of the Society, the highest professional honor awarded by SPJ, for extraordinary contribution to the profession of journalism.